And then I lost them. I have no idea where those cards are. My grandmother’s no-fail pie crust is absolutely gone. If my Mom loses them, I’m out of luck. There goes generations of information, down the drain. Enter: Recipe Thing. Sure you can store a recipe in a wiki or up on a website somewhere. Great. But here’s where we go all Web2.0 and make it really neat, right? You can enter recipes, and then these can get shared out into the greater commons of the site. For instance, I have nothing in my recipe box, but here’s one I got from Nick’s box: Speaking of enough cholesterol to kill you, I think I know why these are named what they’re named. Ingredients:

6 medium potatoes, boiled 1 pint sour cream 1 cup cheddar cheese, grated 1 bunch green onions, chopped 2 tablespoons butter 1 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon pepper 2 tablespoons milk

Directions: Grate the potatoes and combine with all other ingredients. Bake in a 9 by 13-inch pan at 300 degrees for 50 minutes or until heated through. Not only are there recipes, but there’s a meal planner, a shopping list, and all kinds of other added-in features. I plan to start using Recipe Thing to add my family recipes, if only as ANOTHER place to store that information for future generations. But more so, I’m going to go get a few more recipes from the general public, and share some stuff. This is a work in progress, and if you’ve got feedback, I know that Nick and his wife are listening. Stop by and get a free account today, and throw a recipe into the box. Social food sharing? Very nice. Recipe Thing – Nick Senzee